Friday, October 03, 2008

The 58 U.S. House Members Who Switched Their Votes From "No" To "Yes" On The $700 Billion Emergency Economic Stabilization Bill Of 2008

On October 3rd, 2008, the U.S. House passed the 450-page, $700 billion "Emergency Economic Stabilization Act of 2008" by a 263-171 vote. The party count: Democrats supported it 172-63, while Republicans opposed it 91-108. Complete roll call available HERE. You can read an expanded post about the vote and the reaction HERE.

However, the purpose of this post is more limited; it is primarily to identify and expose the House members who switched their votes. Thanks to, we have identified and will spotlight the 58 members of the U.S. House of Representatives who switched their votes from "No" to "Yes" on the "Emergency Economic Stabilization Act of 2008". This will facilitate the efforts of those who wish to "hold them more rigorously accountable". It's up to you, the public, to find out who their opponents are and determine whether or not their opponents are now worthy of enhanced support.

Please note that Rep. McDermott (D-Wash.) went from "yes" to "no," while Rep. Jerry Weller (R-Ill.) did not attend Monday's vote.

Republicans who switched:

Rodney Alexander (La.)
Gresham Barrett (SC)
Judy Biggert (Ill.)
Charles Boustany (La.)
Vern Buchanan (Fla.)
Howard Coble (N.C.)
Mike Conaway (Texas.)
Charles Dent (Pa.)
Mary Fallin (Okla.)
Rodney Frelinghuysen (N.J.)
Jim Gerlach (Pa.)
Peter Hoekstra (Mich.)
Joseph Knollenberg (Mich.)
Randy Kuhl (N.Y.)
Sue Myrick (N.C.)
Jim Ramstad (Minn.)
Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (Fla.)
Jean Schmidt (Ohio)
John Shadegg (Ariz.)
Bill Shuster (Pa.)
John Sullivan (Okla.)
Lee Terry (Neb.)
William “Mac” Thornberry (Texas)
Patrick Tiberi (Ohio)
Zach Wamp (Tenn.)

Democrats who switched:

Neil Abercrombie (Hawaii)
Joe Baca (Calif.)
Shelley Berkely (Nev.)
Bruce Braley (Iowa)
Andre Carson (Ind.)
Emanuel Cleaver (Mo.)
Henry Cueller (Texas)
Elijah Cummings (Md.)
Donna Edwards (Md.)
Gabrielle Giffords (Ariz.)
Al Green (Texas)
Mazie Hirono (Hawaii)
Jesse Jackson Jr. (Ill.)
Sheila Jackson Lee (Texas)
Carolyn Kilpatrick (Mich.)
Barbara Lee (Calif.)
John Lewis (Georgia)
Harry Mitchell (Ariz.)
Solomon Ortiz (Texas)
Bill Pascrell (N.J.)
Ed Pastor (Ariz.)
Bobby Rush (Ill.)
Adam Schiff (Calif.)
David Scott (Georgia)
Hilda Solis (Calif.)
Betty Sutton (Ohio)
Mike Thompson (Calif.)
John Tierney (Mass.)
Diane Watson (Calif.)
Peter Welch (Vt.)
Lynne Woolsey (Calif.)

No comments:

Post a Comment